Mohawk Re-frames Design Competitions

Mohawk Fine Papers has announced the combination of its three design competitions—The Mohawk Show, The i-Tonies and The Strathmore Graphics Gallery—into one annual event.

Mohawk Show 12 will celebrate extraordinary design and print communication produced on Mohawk paper, whether it’s an identity on Strathmore, a variable data campaign printed on an HP Indigo, or a Tiffany’s catalog on Mohawk Navajo,” according to Jane Monast, Director of Communications. “In the past we’ve recognized this diversity through a number of smaller, more focused competitions. However, we realized that winners of these competitions were not getting the recognition they deserved so we’ve combined them and extended the deadline to May 31, 2012 in order to accommodate the different competition timelines.”

Four Best-of-Show
The show is open to work produced between June 1st, 2010 and May 31, 2012. Four best-of-show winners will be selected from all entries, regardless of format or print category.  $5,000 will be paid to each of the best-of-show design teams.

Special Categories—NEW
$2,500 will be paid to the winning design team in each of these three special categories:

Sustainable Design
Pieces in this category will be judged on their contribution to sustainability, either through content, or by techniques, processes and materials designed to reduce the environmental, social, or economic costs of print communication

Strathmore Showcase
Celebrating the art of writing, this category is limited to corporate identities, social stationery, and invitations printed on Strathmore Pure Cotton, Strathmore Writing, Strathmore
Script, Strathmore Elements, Strathmore Grandee, or Strathmore Pastelle.

Print Innovation
This category is for exceptional work printed on any of Mohawk’s digital papers on any digital color production press: including but not limited to the HP Indigo, Xerox iGen3, and Kodak NexPress.

Fifteen Honorable Mentions
$500 each will be paid to the design teams of up to fifteen honorable mentions

Entries will be judged in June 2012 on the basis of higher thinking in graphic design, excellence in print production, and appropriate paper choice. The illustrious panel of judges for Mohawk Show 12 is Stanley Hainsworth (Chair), Marian Bantjes, Michael Jager, and Jorge Alderete.

Download an entry form at

Share Post

Comments (1)

  1. Posted by Flo Luckey on 07/30/2012 at 1:44 PM

    has the Mohawk 12 Show been judged?
    any announcements of winners?
    just curious!

Leave a Comment